what it is to “do good”

I read an interesting article last week and it really got me to step back and re-evaluate. In the past, my thoughts were – if you must – a bit extreme or naive, however you want to describe it. My feelings were: if you’re gonna do good, then actually DO GOOD. Simple as that. Don’t pretend like you care when you really don’t. Not that those feelings have changed, but I realized the complications (biggest issue is always the initial financial concerns) that companies have to face when they try to convert and “do good”.

I just want to say how appreciative I am of H&M, currently one of the leading fast fashion companies, really pushing to be more sustainable with goals to not discharge hazardous chemicals, using more natural and organic fibers, and providing better attention when auditing factories. Yes, many other companies have these goals on their “Go Green – to do list” and they should be! It’s just nice to hear a massive company like H&M really taking the wheel, cause it make me feel like they actually CARE. Though I’m sure we may have our veiwpoints, (hey, if you asked me to name a sustainable brand.. H&M wouldn’t be my answer) I really love that they’re trying to change how we perceive them. Not just for the appearance – okay, maybe – but since their previous mishaps, I’ve seen their continual strides of being more eco-friendly. I honestly really like their “conscious collection”. Plus, they have some badass waste elimination goals they want to achieve by 2020. Sounds really far away, but hey, I’m glad it’s an initiative. Rather than just testing the market on how being “eco-friendly” will appeal to customers but going beyond. I really hope their factory compliance is real.. there’s plenty of sweat and blood that goes into a cheap t-shirt but we’ll get to that another day. All in all, I’m just glad a company so big, is taking many little steps into the right direction.. I think that’s doing “good”.


via: google images

Here’s the article, READ IT:
http://www.forbes.com/sites/lydiadishman/2013/04/09/inside-hms-quest-for-sustainability-in-fast-fashion/

What are your thoughts?

xo,tiff.

Leave a Reply

